Composition Competition

The 2016 John “Jack” Kenneth Cole Composition Prize

John “Jack” Cole

2015 Winner, Erik Schmauss

The winner:

  • Will receive a premiere of his or her work by the Oregon Pro Arte Chamber Orchestra.
  • Will receive a $500 Prize and Commemorative Plaque.


  • Works must be no more than 12 minutes in duration.
  • Composers must be 25 years old or younger in 2016.
  • Works must be written for chamber orchestra instrumentation or a variation of it:
    • A medium sized string section, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, up to 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, and standard percussion.
    • Instrumentation is limited to the list above, but could include different combinations:
      • i.e.—a work for winds, a work for strings, select instrument combos, or standard classical orchestration.

Submissions MUST include:

  • A PDF of the full score.
  • A PDF set of parts.
  • A MIDI or live recording of the work.
  • A cover letter with your contact information and a brief description or conceptualization of the work.
    • Any submissions (scores and parts) not in PDF format, incomplete submissions, and submissions that do not meet the instrumentation requirements above will be disqualified.

Fill out the online submission form. Application closed

Complete submissions must be received by March 1, 2016.


Contact Artistic Director Dr. Jeff Specht at [email protected].

Past Winners:

2015 Erik Schmauss
2014 Jared Hedges
2013 No winner selected
2012 Brandon Becker
2011 No winner selected
2010 Steven Pine
2009 Andrew Poole Todd
2008 Scott J. Ordway